Advertising in the post-cookie era - impacts and perspectives

Advertising in the post-cookie era - impacts and perspectives
In France, web actors are obliged to provide users browsing their sites with a tool for providing information and collecting (consenting or refusing) information on the use and purposes of processing their personal browsing data. Indeed, the CNIL has given all French actors until March 31 to comply with its latest recommendations. This includes the implementation of a CMP (Consent Management Platform) whose role is to collect the user's choices regarding the use of the various tracers set up on the site and to give the user the clear and obvious possibility of accepting or refusing them. At present, it is estimated that 30-50% of users refuse third-party cookies, i.e. cookies that are placed on the site on which the user is browsing and that are operated by third-party companies. Although this seems to pose significant problems for many web actors, it is only the first steps towards a complete and total disappearance of third-party cookies - in 2022. What are the impacts and prospects of such a revolution? Are there any alternatives so far?

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

 

Third-party cookies and their use

Third-party cookies have been around since 1994. This 27 year old technology has never (or almost never) evolved. Today, although aging, this solution is used for many purposes:

  • Track users and analyze data to build profiles
  • Have access to a browsing history
  • Behavioral ad targeting and capping
  • Measure performance (visits, impressions, conversions, attributions...)

Thus, third-party cookies have been massively adopted by the online advertising industry. 

As for advertisers, they use cookies in order to know their audience, to track the user's path and to be able to retarget them with personalized advertising. 

Publishers use third-party cookies to track page impressions, ad clicks (and conversions) and to display targeted advertising to their audience.

Current context and issues

Since March 31, 2021, all French web actors have been obliged to give Internet users a free choice to accept or refuse the use of their personal data.

By now, most browsers have already blocked third-party cookies. Indeed, two of the best known - Safari and Firefox - do not allow any third-party cookies on their browsers. Nevertheless, Chrome is the most used browser in the world (about 66%), and many other browsers run on the open-source Chromium technology. Chrome still accepts third-party cookies, but plans to remove them starting in 2022.

Advertisers and publishers are very dependent on third-party cookie technology. Thus, they are faced with many problems! While e-merchants will no longer be able to do behavioral advertising (end of remarketing), publishers will no longer be able to use this technology to monetize their audience in an optimal way. Moreover, it is becoming essential to rethink the entire conversion and attribution system... Indeed, without third-party cookies, advertising performance measurement (post-click; post-view) becomes impossible.

The solutions

Contextual targeting

Socio-demographic targeting

Going back to the preferred targeting of traditional media? This is one of the solutions that is being seriously considered. Socio-demographic targeting is widely used by television, radio, newspapers... and will probably (re)become the favorite targeting of the web. Indeed, at a time when third-party cookies are disappearing and behavioral targeting with them, contextual targeting seems to be one of the most efficient alternatives.

To achieve contextual targeting, advertisers rely on thematic and/or socio-demographic elements. For example, an e-tailer selling motorcycle equipment will want to display its ads on media related to this theme, or on media that include socio-demographic groups that are likely to like or ride motorcycles.

Artificial intelligence for contextual targeting

Artificial intelligence is becoming more and more important in our lives and in digital tools. Nowadays, very powerful algorithms are able to read content and guess the subject of the page/article. This technology would allow advertisers to continue to use programmatic and display their ads on a wide variety of sites.

For example, some informational sites (publishers) work on many themes and attract a very diverse audience. Advertisers would be reluctant to work with this type of publisher, as their display campaigns would be seen by audiences that do not fit their targeting, and would have difficulty managing their CPMs.

Thanks to artificial intelligence and semantic analysis, publishers can offer advertisers to display their ads on their pages/articles that fall within the theme of their targeting. For this, the sale and purchase of advertising space would go through a programmatic platform and the current bidding system can continue, in order to guarantee ever more attractive ROIs.

Google's Privacy Sandbox

You might think that if Google deletes cookies from its Chrome browser, it's because it's under pressure from those who have already deleted them and wants to follow in their footsteps... But in reality, Google has planned ahead and is going to reap many benefits.

For a few years, the American giant has been working on a new project: the Privacy Sandbox. Third-party cookies are disappearing... but not first-party cookies! And Google has the largest worldwide database acquired with first-party cookies. Indeed, the users of Google tools are very numerous, and most of them are connected to their account. So, even with the disappearance of third-party cookies, Google is able to analyze the behavior and tastes of Internet users who use their products.

If you are an advertiser and want to do ultra-targeted advertising (unique ID), this will become impossible. However, Google has created FLoC (Federated Learning of Cohorts). This means that as a user of Google's products, you will no longer be targeted as a unique individual, but Google will place you in a Cohort of users who share the same interests as you.

Advertisers will be able to use Google to target their campaigns and reach categories of Internet users who are interested in their products. Publishers will be able to sell their advertising space to advertisers at attractive prices.

Although this solution seems interesting for the three actors of the Internet (advertiser, publishers and Internet users), Google becomes even more indispensable and establishes its hegemony in front of the independent web (which is also called the open web).

At the time of writing this article, FLoCs are not available in France. The reason? This solution does not fall within the jurisdiction imposed by the RGPD and the CNIL. French actors must therefore - for the moment - find other alternatives.

Web Push Notification, an alternative in a cookieless world

Why use Web Push Notification in the cookieless era?

Being closer to your audience... This is what should motivate advertisers today. At a time when behavioral targeting as we knew it until now will disappear, display remarketing outside GAFA also risks losing a significant potential of reach. So how can you really reach people who know your products and have already visited your site?

  • Email marketing is at the heart of most e-tailers' digital strategy. Indeed, getting an email is done in different ways:
  • Creating an account and/or purchasing a product
  • Subscription to a newsletter
  • Registering for an event
  • Downloading a resource

Thus, when an e-merchant collects an email address, he can be sure that the person who receives his messages will be receptive.

Thus, emailing is a very effective retargeting solution. About 1 to 2% of the visitors of a website give their email address and can therefore be contacted again.

Web Push Notification works in a similar way to email, as each notification sent will reach a targeted audience. Indeed, to collect a consent to receive notifications, the user must be browsing on the advertiser's website. On the other hand, it is on average 15% of Internet users who will give their consent vs. 1 to 2% for email!

Thus, e-merchants who use the Web Push technology observe a higher base of contacts than those emailing in only a few months!

How does Web Push Notification work?

Web Push Notification is an innovative and efficient communication format. This technology is managed by the user's browser and OS. This means that it is displayed on-screen and is entirely cookie-less. The user who subscribes to Web Push Notifications does not need to be on a particular site to receive the notification!

As we have seen before, about 15% of the visitors of a site subscribe to Web Push Notifications. This is due to the fact that Adrenalead offers the possibility to customize the collection template! This format is displayed on-screen, and 100% RGPD compliant with explicit collection of the user is not adblockable! Other advantages come from this format:

  • 100% controlled marketing pressure (unlike display and behavioral targeting)
  • Advertising fraud impossible (ephemeral and on-screen format)
  • Brand control (advertising does not appear on a site)
  • Redirects the subscriber to the chosen landing page in 1 click

Thus, this cookie-less communication format becomes a real lever of customer activation for all advertisers who wish to capitalize on their audience and regain control over their retargeting campaigns.email vs Web Push Notifications

More effective in every way than emailnotification is becoming a must for all advertisers who want to continue retargeting their site visitors in the cookieless era with a format that complements email marketing.

You want to know more or be part of the adventure? Contact us with the form below.

Also to be discovered:

Summer online Meetings BigBoss
Past event
Summer Online Edition The Big Bosses . 2021

lesBigBoss is organising an Online Opus, the Summer Online Meetings. A full business day that brings together 700 decision-makers and digital actors for an amplified experience.

Retails and E-commerce decision makers' dinner
Upcoming event
Retail and E-commerce decision makers' dinner . 21 Oct

The Retail and E-commerce Dinner brings together 30 decision-makers from the major retail chains, major brands and pure players. It is primarily aimed at Retail and/or phygital Directors, E-commerce Directors, Customer Experience Directors...

Publicité à l’ère post-cookies – impacts et perspectives

En France, les acteurs du web ont l’obligation de mettre à disposition de l’utilisateur qui navigue sur leur site un outil d’information, de collecte (du consentement ou du refus) quant à l’utilisation et aux finalités de traitement de ses données personnelles de navigation.

En effet, la CNIL a donné jusqu’au 31 mars dernier à tous les acteurs français de se mettre en conformité avec ses dernières recommandations.

Cela passe notamment par la mise en place d’une CMP (Consent Management Plateform) qui a pour rôle de recueillir les choix de l’utilisateurs quant à l’utilisation des différents traceurs mis en place sur le site et donner la possibilité claire et évidente à l’utilisateur de les accepter ou les refuser.

A l’heure actuelle, on estime à 30-50% le taux de refus des cookies-tiers, c’est-à-dire les cookies qui sont déposés sur le site sur lequel navigue l’internaute et qui sont exploités par des sociétés tierces. Bien que cela semble poser des problèmes importants pour de nombreux acteurs du web, ce n’est que les prémices d’une disparition totale et complète des cookies tiers – en 2022. Quels sont les impacts et les perspectives d’une telle révolution ? Existe-t-il des alternatives à ce jour ?

 Publicité à l’ère post-cookies – impacts et perspectives

 

Les cookies tiers et leur utilité

Les cookies-tiers existent depuis 1994. Cette technologie vieille de plus de 27 ans n’a jamais (ou presque) évolué. A l’heure actuelle, bien que vieillissante, cette solution est utilisée pour de très nombreuses finalités :

  • Suivre les utilisateurs et analyser les données afin d’établir des profils
  • Avoir accès à un historique de navigation
  • Faire du ciblage publicitaire comportemental et gérer la diffusion (capping)
  • Mesurer la performance (visites, impressions, conversions, attributions…)

Ainsi, les cookies-tiers ont été massivement adoptés par l’industrie de la publicité en ligne. 

Pour ce qui est des annonceurs, ils utilisent les cookies afin de connaître leur audience, de tracker le parcours utilisateur et de pouvoir les recibler avec de la publicité personnalisée. 

En ce qui concerne les éditeurs, ils utilisent les cookies-tiers afin de connaître le nombre d’impression de leurs pages, de tracker les clics sur les publicités (et les conversions) et pour afficher de la publicité ciblée à leur audience.

Contexte actuel et problématiques

Depuis le 31 mars 2021, tous les acteurs du web français ont l’obligation de laisser libre choix aux internautes d’accepter ou de refuser l’utilisation de leurs données personnelles.

A l’heure actuelle, la plupart des navigateurs ont déjà bloqué les cookies-tiers. En effet, deux des plus connus – Safari et Firefox – n’autorisent aucun cookie tiers sur leurs navigateurs. Néanmoins, c’est Chrome qui est le navigateur le plus utilisé dans le monde (environ 66%), et de nombreux autres navigateurs fonctionnent via la technologie open-source Chromium. Chrome accepte encore les cookies-tiers, mais prévoit de les supprimer à partir de 2022.

Les sites annonceurs, comme éditeurs, sont très dépendants à la technologie des cookies-tiers. Ainsi, ils sont confrontés à de nombreuses problématiques ! Alors que les e-commerçants ne pourront plus faire de publicité ciblée par le comportement (fin du remarketing), les éditeurs ne pourront plus utiliser cette technologie pour monétiser de manière optimale leur audience. De plus, il devient primordial de repenser la totalité du système de conversion et d’attribution… En effet, sans cookies-tiers, la mesure de performances publicitaires (post-click ; post-view) devient impossible.

Les solutions

Le ciblage contextuel

Le ciblage socio-démographique

Revenir au ciblage privilégié des médias traditionnels ? C’est l’une des solutions qui est sérieusement envisagée. Le ciblage socio-démographique est largement utilisé par la télévision, la radio, les journaux… et va probablement (re)devenir le ciblage favori du web. En effet, à l’heure où les cookies-tiers disparaissent et le ciblage comportemental avec eux, le ciblage contextuel semble être l’une des alternatives les plus efficaces.

Pour réaliser du ciblage contextuel, les annonceurs s’appuient sur des éléments thématiques et / ou socio-démographiques. Par exemple, un e-commerçant vendant des équipements de moto souhaitera afficher ses publicités sur des médias de cette thématique, ou sur des médias regroupant des groupes socio-démographiques qui sont susceptibles d’aimer ou de faire de la moto.

L’intelligence artificielle au service du ciblage contextuel

L’intelligence artificielle prend une place de plus en plus importante dans nos vies et dans les outils numériques. De nos jours, des algorithmes très performants sont capables de lire des contenus et de deviner le sujet évoqué dans la page / article. Cette technologie permettrait aux annonceurs de pouvoir continuer d’utiliser la programmatique et d’afficher leurs annonces sur une grande diversité de sites.

Par exemple, certains sites informationnels (éditeurs) travaillent sur de nombreuses thématiques et attirent une audience très variée. Ainsi, les annonceurs seraient réticents à travailler avec ce type d’éditeur, car leurs campagnes display seraient vues par des audiences qui n’entrent pas dans leur ciblage, et auraient du mal à gérer leurs CPM.

Grâce à l’intelligence artificielle et à l’analyse sémantique, les éditeurs peuvent proposer aux annonceurs d’afficher leurs publicités sur leurs pages / articles qui entrent dans la thématique de leur ciblage. Pour cela, la vente et achat d’espace publicitaire passerait par une plateforme programmatique et le système actuel d’enchères peut perdurer, afin de garantir des ROIs toujours plus attractifs.

La Privacy Sandbox de Google

On pourrait croire que si Google supprime les cookies de son navigateur Chrome, c’est parce qu’il subit la pression de ceux qui les ont déjà supprimés et qu’il veut suivre leurs pas… Mais en réalité, Google a prévu le coup et va en tirer de nombreux bénéfices.

Depuis quelques années, le géant Américain travaille sur un nouveau projet : la Privacy Sandbox. Les cookies-tiers disparaissent… mais pas les cookies first-party ! Et Google dispose de la plus importante base de données mondiale acquise avec les cookies first-party. En effet, les utilisateurs des outils de Google sont très nombreux, et la plupart sont connectés à leur compte. Ainsi, même avec la disparition des cookies-tiers, Google est en mesure d’analyser le comportement et les goûts des internautes qui utilisent leurs produits.

Si vous êtes un annonceur et que vous souhaitez faire de la publicité ultra-ciblée (ID unique), cela deviendra impossible. Néanmoins, Google a créé les FLoC (Federated Learning of Cohorts). Ainsi, en tant qu’internaute utilisant les produits de Google, vous ne serez plus ciblé en tant qu’individu unique, mais Google vous placera dans une Cohorte d’utilisateurs qui regroupent les mêmes centres d’intérêts que vous.

Ainsi, les annonceurs pourront passer par Google pour cibler leurs campagnes et toucher des catégories d’internautes qui s’intéressent à leurs produits. Quant aux éditeurs, ils seront en mesure de vendre leurs espaces publicitaires à des prix intéressants aux annonceurs.

Bien que cette solution semble intéressante pour les trois acteurs d’internet (annonceur, éditeurs et internautes), Google devient encore plus indispensable et assoit davantage son hégémonie face au web indépendant (que l’on appelle aussi l’openweb).

A l’heure de l’écriture de cet article, les FLoC ne sont pas disponibles en France. La raison ? Cette solution n’entre pas dans la juridiction imposée par le RGPD et la CNIL. Les acteurs français doivent donc – pour l’instant – trouver d’autres alternatives.

La Web Push Notification, une alternative dans un monde cookieless

Pourquoi utiliser la Web Push Notification à l’ère cookieless ?

Être au plus proche de son audience… Voici ce qui doit motiver les annonceurs aujourd’hui. A l’heure où le ciblage comportemental tel que nous le connaissions jusqu’alors va disparaître, le remarketing display hors GAFA risque aussi de perdre un potentiel important de reach. Alors comment faire pour toucher réellement les internautes qui connaissent vos produits et qui ont déjà visité votre site ?

  • L’email marketing est au cœur de la stratégie digitale de la plupart des e-commerçants. En effet, obtenir un email se fait de différentes manières :
  • La création d’un compte et / ou l’achat d’un produit
  • L’abonnement à une Newsletter
  • L’inscription à un événement
  • Le téléchargement d’une ressource

Ainsi, lorsqu’un e-commerçant récupère une adresse email, il peut être certain que la personne qui recevra ses messages sera réceptive.

Ainsi, l’emailing est une solution de retargeting très efficace. Environ 1 à 2% des visiteurs d’un site web donnent leur adresse mail et peuvent donc être recontactés.

La Web Push Notification fonctionne de façon similaire à l’email, car chaque notification envoyée touchera une audience ciblée. En effet, pour recueillir un consentement à la réception des notifications, il faut que l’internaute soit en train de naviguer sur le site de l’annonceur. En revanche, c’est en moyenne 15% des internautes qui vont donner leur consentement vs 1 à 2% pour l’email !

Ainsi, les e-commerçants qui utilisent la technologie de la Web Push observe une base supérieure de contacts à celles emailing en seulement quelques mois !

Comment fonctionne la Web Push Notification ?

La Web Push Notification est un format de communication innovant et performant. Cette technologie est gérée par le navigateur et l’OS de l’internaute. Cela signifie qu’elle s’affiche on-screen et qu’elle est entièrement cookie-less. L’internaute qui est abonné aux Web Push Notifications n’a donc pas besoin d’être sur un site en particulier pour recevoir la notification !

Comme nous l’avons vu précédemment, environ 15% des visiteurs d’un site s’abonnent aux Web Push Notifications. Ceci est dû au fait qu’Adrenalead offre la possibilité de personnaliser le template de collecte ! Ce format s’affichant on-screen, et 100% RGPD compliant avec recueil explicite de l’internaute n’est pas adblockable ! D’autres avantages découlent de ce format :

  •       Pression marketing 100% maîtrisée (contrairement au display et au ciblage comportemental)
  •       Fraude publicitaire impossible (format éphémère et on-screen)
  •       Contrôle de l’image de marque (la publicité n’apparaît pas sur un site)
  •       Redirige l’abonné vers la landing page choisie en 1 seul clic

Ainsi, ce format cookie-less de communication devient un véritable levier d’activation clients  pour tous les annonceurs qui souhaitent capitaliser sur leur audience et reprendre la main sur leurs campagnes de retargeting.email vs Web Push Notifications

Plus performant en tous points que l’email, la notification devient un élément incontournable de tous les annonceurs qui souhaitent continuer de recibler les visiteurs de leur site à l’ère cookieless avec un format complémentaire à l’email marketing.

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus ou faire partie de l’aventure ? Contactez-nous avec le formulaire ci-dessous.